Uni Bremen

The group is mainly working in optical particle characterization especially in development of Phase Doppler Anemometry for difficult sizing problems such inhomogeneous liquids, coated spheres, nonspherical or rough particles and multiple particles in the measurement volume. This includes development of new instruments based on Laser diodes, photodetectors, CCD detectors and improvement of signal processors based on the FFT.
Major research project are in light scattering simulation e.g. development of the NFM-DS (nullfield method with discrete sources) and Monte Carlo code for particles having inclusions. Other projects are to design nonspherical latex particles and to develop piezoelectric droplet generators for microdosing and particle characterization applications.
Staff Content Contact

Dr.-Ing. Thomas Wriedt
Dr. Elena Eremina
Dipl.-Phys. Norbert Riefler
Dipl.-Phys. Roman Schuh
Dipl.-Phys. Jens Hellmers

former members:
Dr.-Ing. Frank Schöne
Dr.-Ing. Uwe Manasse
Dr.-Ing. Zelong Jiang
Dr.-Ing. Jörg Rheims
Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Goebel
Dr.-Ing. Hanno Schombacher
Dr.-Ing. Holger Dahl
Dipl.-Biotechnol. Isabel Weber
Dipl.-Ing. Uwe Dirks
Dipl.-Phys. Cordula Hoff
Dr.-Ing. Hubertus Lohner
Dr.-Ing. Adrian Doicu
Dipl.-Ing. Ute Comberg
Dr.-Ing. Mario Mitschke
Dipl.-Ing. Sorin Pulbere
Hartmut Ulmke

Electromagnetic Scattering Programs

Online Papers


Pollens of Northern Germany

Nixie Clock


Dr.-Ing. Thomas Wriedt

Institut fuer Werkstofftechnik
Badgasteiner Str. 3
D-28359 Bremen

Tel.: ++49-421-218-2507
Fax: ++49-421-218-5378
email: thw@iwt.uni-bremen.de


Back to Process Engineering Department